Daily Archives: June 10, 2009

Some Interesting Reading for Those Who Like to Feel a Bit Sick

I came across the Vancouver Coastal Health food establishment closures 2009. This is super fun reading, especially when you find somewhere you have actually eaten! And for me, that was Harvey’s on Sweden Way in Richmond. The best part of this is that it just says “Pest Infestation”. What Pest are they referring to? Mice? Roaches? The imagination just runs wild with possibilities. I am so sad now. I thought I had found somewhere in Richmond where I could get an OK Veggie burger in cases of extreme emergency. Serves me right for eating at a fast food place in a Home Depot. The focus is on lumber, not food safety, obviously.

The most frightening thing about this list though is how badly you have to infringe upon local hygiene rules before you actually get shut down. Unless you have employees or customers with a personal vendetta against management, you can hide unsanitary conditions and rodent problems from the public for a good long time. You would have to actually make someone quite ill, or have frequent warnings without a decent effort to resolve the problem in order to be shut down entirely.

So read this list and take note. Unless they have new management, renovations, or both, it’s not tremendously likely that you will be served food at these places without a double helping of bacteria.

And do I even need bother mentioning that Cafe Crepe is on the list? There’s a shock and a half. STOP EATING AT CAFE CREPE, YOU ARE ONLY ENCOURAGING THEM!

All I can say is this; Ick.